Kamianets-Podilskyi [pol. Kamieniec Podolski] a city situated in the Eastern Ukraine, on the Smotrych River. The first mention of the city was made in 1062. The Koriatovych family are believed to have founded the city. Over the years, the city was under Polish control a number of times. The Polish government was solidified in Kamianets in 1430. In 1434 the city became the capital of a newly formed Podolian Voivodeship. Over the years the city flourished due to the city charter based on the Magdeburg rights. Kamianets used to be called the “Bulwark of Christianity” and the “Gateway to Poland” because of being subjected to the Tatar-Ottoman jeopardy. Kamianets kept on thriving in spite of being besieged. The city was entitled to elect the monarch. Since the 15th century it had been the seat for the gentry courts. Kamianets-Podilskyi was considered the mightiest fortress of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth on Easter Borderlands [pol. Kresy Wschodnie]. After 1617 the New Castle was erected which succeeded in repelling Ottoman attacks. Nevertheless the Polish - Ottoman wars waged in the 17th century resulting in the Ottoman Empire takeover of the city on the basis of the Treaty of Buchach. In 1699 the Commonwealth regained the city. During the partitions Kamianets-Podilskyi belonged to the Russian Empire. It has belonged to Ukraine since 1920.
Today Kamianets-Podilskyi is one of the most picturesque Ukrainian cities that citizens call “The Pearl-on the Stone” or “The Flower on the Stone”. Multicultural city with unique architectural attractions. The Old Town which constitutes a set of architectural complexes of historic value attracts crowds of tourists. The city is famous for festivals and historical performances which perfectly complies with the marvellous setting and the architecture of Kamianets.
Festivals and cultural events: