The Lublin Museum is one of the oldest and largest cultural institutions on the right side of the Vistula river. It has four branches in Lublin and five outside the city. The headquarters of the museum and most of its branches are high-class monuments. The museum collects and exhibits monuments of archaeology, ethnography, militaria, numismatics and art. The permanent exhibitions include: the Polish Historical and Battle Paintings, the Gallery of Foreign Paintings from the17th to 19th centuries, the Gallery of Polish Paintings from the 17th to19th centuries, the Coins and Medals in Poland from the 10th to 20th centuries, the Folk Art of the Lublin Region, the Traces of the Past. The ancient history of the Lublin region, the Lapidary (exhibition in the historic basement of the Holy Trinity Chapel), the Orthodox Church Paintings, the Prison at the Lublin Castle (permanent exhibition in the tower).
In the museum the visitors can also see the famous painting by Jan Matejko The Union of Lublin. About 20-30 temporary exhibitions are organized every year. In 2017 the visitors could see the exhibition Pablo Picasso - Multiple Image presenting the artist's graphics and ceramics.
From 1957, the main headquarters of the museum is the Lublin Castle dating back to the 12th century. While visiting the Castle, it is also worth visiting the Tower with a viewing terrace, as well as the Holy Trinity Chapel, which was founded by King Władysław Jagiełło. The Chapel contains priceless Rutheno-Byzantine paintings from 1418.