## HE UNION OF POLISH METR

Contact: Plac Defilad 1, 00-901 Warsaw • phone +48 22 656 76 16 • e-mail: biuro@metropolie.pl • www.metropolie.pl President of the Board: Słonimska Street No 1, 15-950 Białystok • phone +48 85 869 60 02 • prezydent@um.bialystok.pl Secretary of the Board: Plac Armii Krajowej No 1, 70-456 Szczecin • phone +48 91 424 52 04 • prezydent@um.szczecin.pl



BIAŁYSTOK · BYDGOSZCZ · GDAŃSK · KATOWICE · KRAKÓW · LUBLIN · ŁÓDŹ · POZNAŃ · RZESZÓW · SZCZECIN · WARSZAWA

## THE APPEAL OF MAYORS OF THE UNION OF POLISH METROPOLISES

## in connection with the International Day for Tolerance November 16

On the International Day for Tolerance, established by the UN General Assembly at the initiative of UNESCO in 1995, we are recalling an excerpt from the Declaration of Principles on Tolerance, signed by UNESCO member states, and at the same time establishing this international holiday:

"Tolerance is respect, acceptance and appreciation of the rich diversity of our world's cultures, our forms of expression and ways of being human. It is fostered by knowledge, openness, communication, and freedom of thought, conscience and belief. Tolerance is harmony in difference. It is not only a moral duty, it is also a political and legal requirement. Tolerance, the virtue that makes peace possible, contributes to the replacement of the culture of war by a culture of peace."

Today, we, the authorities of Polish cities, would like to show our solidarity with all those who are struggling with exclusion, discrimination and unequal treatment on a daily basis. Those whose voice requires strengthening, but also those who fight for their rights with determination, becoming the target of verbal attacks, but recently also of physical attacks.

We want to show that every citizen of our local homelands has the same rights and obligations, regardless of their nationality, religion, political views or sexual orientation.

Tadeusz Truskolaski Mayor of the City of Białystok

Jacek Majchrowski Mayor of the City of Kraków

Tadeusz Ferenc Mayor of the City of Rzeszów

Krzysztof Żuk Mayor of the of Lublin

Piotr Krzystek

Mayor of the City of Szczecin

Mayor of the City of Bydgoszcz

Aleksandra Dulkiewicz Mayor of the City of Gdańsk

Hanna Zdanowska Mayor of the City of Łódź

Mayor of the City of Poznań

Marcin Krupa

Mayor of the City of Katowice

Jacek Jaskowiak

Rafał Trzaskowski

Mayor of the City of Warszawa Mayor of the City of Wrocław